We Are FDCC

 
 

The formation of FDCC can be traced back to 9th November 1852. On this day a team representing Fremantle played a team from Perth. This game resulted in a win by Perth, however a few weeks later we were able to reverse the result. 

On the 4th December 1852 a meeting was held and as a result the first committee was formed. From then until 1886 various matches were organised against Metropolitan and Country teams and also visiting Naval ships.

In 1885 the Western Australian Cricket Association ( W.A.C.A.) was formed and Fremantle joined the following year. From then until 1921 the club competed, sometimes in the W.A.C.A. and other times in local Fremantle District competitions.

From 1921 until present we have been part of the W.A.C.A. competition, however during World War II when we joined with Claremont in a one day competition.

 Our games were first played on the “Green” which was located on a low swampy area which is now occupied by E shed markets and the Old Customs House. We transferred to Fremantle Park in the early 1880’s , then to Fremantle Oval where we played until 1968. In this year we moved to our current location, Stevens Reserve, which is considered as one of the best playing and viewing club grounds in Australia.

The club has won thirteen First Grade and numerous Minor Grade Premierships, together with nine Club Championships. The first First Grade win being in 1886/87.

Ten Test players have played with the club, the first being Ernie Jones who was a member of the First Grade premiership team in 1911-12 and most recent is Mitchell Marsh. The first West Australian born Test player was Ernie Bromley who played with Fremantle. In addition two of Australia’s Test team coaches, Bob Simpson and Geoff Marsh played with the club; whilst the current West Indies coach, Otis Gibson, was a Fremantle player. Geoff also coached Zimbabwe and Sri Lanka.

Over the years Fremantle has also been blessed with considerable talent amongst their Administration and their ability, dedication and hard work continues to reflect in the current Committee.

field.jpg

Club documents

Office bearers

President : Dave Davenport
Email : davdav@iinet.net.au
Phone : 0418 921 908

Vice President : Grant Edgar
Email : edgar@iinet.net.au
Phone : 0422 844 677

Vice President : Bruce Rudrum
Email : bruce@merlino.com.au
Phone : 0412 155 699

Vice President : Dale Jones
Email : freocricket@bigpond.com
Phone : 0428 475 632

Secretary : Mark Beecroft
Email : markbeecroft260@gmail.com
Phone : 0403 435 497

Treasurer : Chelsea Fell
Email : chelseafell2611@gmail.com
Phone : 0452 572 611

Committee : Jordan Buller
Email : jbuller@deloitte.com.au
Phone : 0403 870 730

Committee : Phil Alvaro
Email : phila@byfieldswealth.com.au
Phone : 0427 931 330

Committee : Morne de Koker
Email : mornedk@bigpond.com
Phone : 0420 245 552

Committee : Phil Holman
Email : Phillip.holman@bigpond.com
Phone : 0438 108 595

Committee : Rich Mulroney
Email : mulroneyr@gmail.com
Phone : 0475 554 441

Committee : Benoit Gaffney
Email : benoit.gaffney@gmail.com
Phone : 0426 257 270

Committee : Mel O’Neill-King
Email : mel@athletex.com.au
Phone : 0437 380 200

Club Coaches

Head Coach : Joe Piromalli
Email : chickers@bigpond.com
Phone : 0437 209 471

Assistant Coach : Wayne Copeland
Email : waynec@austal.com
Phone : 0410 029 175

Junior Coordinator : Morne de Koker
Email : mornedk@bigpond.com
Phone : 0420 245 552

17s Coach : Tony McDowell
Email : TonyM@armada.com.au

15s Coach : Eddie Swan
Email : ezza.swan@yahoo.com.au
Phone : 0431 120 585

14s Coach : Phil Alvaro
Email : phila@byfieldswealth.com.au
Phone : 9416 2222

13s Coach : Lewis Green
Email : lewis.green@iinet.net.au